Music Censorship

explicit_content_logo.jpg

“I am totalitarian, I’ve got abortions in my eyes
I hate the hater, I’d rape the raper….
F*** it
Hey victim, should I black your eyes again?
Hey victim, you were the one who put the stick in my hand….
Let’s just kill everyone and let your God sort them out.” – Marilyn Manson

Pretty tame as far as some music lyrics go. While it’s true that violence, drug use, alcohol use and sexual activity is on the rise among young people, we have to acknowledge this is not the same world we or our parents grew up in. Are there other contributing factors at play here or should all the blame be put on musicians? Where is the responsibility of the parent? Since when did it become society’s job to raise everyone else’s children. Parents need to be more proactive when sharing their individual values and morals with their own children. If you don’t want your children listening to lyrics containing profanity and referrences to drug use and violence then tell them. Don’t tell me what to listen to. Pay attention to what your children are listening to. The RIAA (Recording Industry Association of American) independently chose to place labels on so called questionable CD’s. Take advantage of these “Explicit Content” labels clearly printed on the front of the CD and let your own children know you don’t approve of them. Or better yet, buy all your CD’s at WalMart because they’re too pious to sell explicit content CD’s in the first place.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I think the government has enough to say about how I live my life. I don’t need them governing what I listen to as well. Not only does censoring music infringe upon my First Amendment rights, it leaves the door wide open for the government to engage in other forms of censorship. What’s next? Blacking out portions of artwork, reading material, etc.? They’ll continue to dictate what I can and cannot do, read and listen to in a free society. I don’t know about you, but I think Korn loses a little bit of their impact without the occassional “profanity”. It’s supposed to be angry. I can listen to Barry Manilow if I want to feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Remember that Elvis was once on the edge and considered questionable. Now he’s on a postage stamp. Jimi Hendrix was once considered radical and he’s now in the Music Hall of Fame. This is called rebellion folks and it continues on through each generation.

And what do your children say about this? Ask them if and when you ever talk to them and actually wait for an answer. It’s sad that minors can’t even vote on the issue of censorship that will ultimately affect them.

  “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”  –  First Amendment

Leave a Reply

