I Love Mandy

tomtom.jpg

I love Mandy. She’s a secure and constant presence in my every journey. Mandy is always there for me when I need her most, beside me on each and every road I travel. When I feel I’ve lost my way, Mandy gently guides me with her soft, but authoritative voice. I honestly don’t know how I’ve lived without her for so long and I hope she remains with me always.

Okay, Mandy isn’t my lover, she’s my GPS tracker. I didn’t name her. TomTom offers three voice choices and I chose Mandy over the British voice and the male voice (I couldn’t listen to that on any trip, long or short). And I certainly would never call it TomTom or even Tom because that’s my ex’s name. I’d rather shove a sharp stick in my eye.

My particular GPS tracker is incredibly easy to use and is ready to go right out of the box. It displays exactly how many miles I have to go before my next turn, what road I will be turning onto and exactly how long my entire trip will take. It has alot of other features that I haven’t even used yet. It’s so easy to program even I can do it.

Having a GPS tracker makes me feel so much more secure, I can’t believe I didn’t get one much sooner. I no longer have to sit with a stupid printout from a map-finding website (which half the time is wrong) sitting in my lap or taped to my dashboard. I was petrified I’d get into an accident trying to follow the written directions, had trouble seeing it and turned off on the side of the road more times than I can count because I made a wrong turn somewhere along the way.

GPS trackers are now being used to trace the whereabouts of suspected criminals. A “man” in my town was recently indicted on murder charges for running over his children’s 12 year old babysitter. The 42 year old man maintains he brought the girl to a pasture to see some horses around midnight after she babysat for him and accidentally ran over her with his truck while trying to turn around.  But investigators say the GPS shows he took her to an abandoned house around midnight and his truck stayed there for 3 hours.  Deputies believe the girl finally got away around 3 a.m. which is when the man chased her down and ran over her, killing her instantly.

GPS systems operate on a Global Positioning System and a CD-ROM with a digital road map that holds all the information the system needs to guide you along the way. The car navigation system always knows the best route for you to take because 3 of the 24 GPS satellites orbiting the Earth report the current position of your navigation system. State of the art sensors record every movement and register even the slightest change of direction. Most roads in the entire country are stored on the CD-ROM, so the system always knows where you are and so do you.

Travelers, sales people, delivery people, drivers of emergency vehicles and anyone needing to reach a variety of destinations can benefit from the use of a GPS system. Although GPS systems aren’t exactly cheap (TomTom is still affortable at a price somewhere between $300 and $400) they are an invaluable tool and, in my opinion, priceless.

***This post and all others (including posts not published here) can be read on my new blogging site, http://www.mylovesleftovers.com. Thanks for checking it out!

Leave a Reply

