Those Nasty Tummy Stretch Marks-What Works and What Doesn’t Work…

My son and I have this running joke. Whenever he gives me a hard time about doing something around the house I remind him how I carried him for 24 months, was in labor for 3 weeks and my stomach looks like a road map because of all my stretch marks. So, I exaggerate a little about the first 2, but sadly, I’m serious about the last.

My 3 children were born in 3 consecutive years. 1987, 1988, 1989, so imagine my little tummy (yes, little…I was a mere 110 lbs. before getting pregnant the first time) stretching, shrinking, stretching, shrinking, stretching and shrinking a final time. That does wonders for your stomach muscles and skin. Yuck! So, when I first started seeing ads for Mederma I thought this was the answer to all my stretch mark problems. I could wear a bikini again. I didn’t have to tug at my shirt tails when my offensive stomach tried to peek out. I promptly paid the 20 some odd dollars and went home to slather it on. And I waited and I waited and then waited some more over a period of weeks.

I double checked the Mederma packaging and by golly it says to apply generous amounts 3 to 4 times a day for 8 weeks on new scars and 3 to 4 times a day for 3 to 6 months. What?! 3 to 4 times a day for 3 to 6 months??? This was alot of Mederma. At $20 a pop for a 50G tube, that was a small fortune. Not to mention the inconvenience of having to interrupt my daily routine to apply more Mederma. But the commercial says it works. However, they never did mention it would take half a year. I was beginning to think that the only thing this works on is Mederma’s profits, but I stayed with the recommended amount and time. Still to no avail.

After a web search I found the only sites I could find that touted Mederma as effective were sites that sold the product. While I’m by no means saying that Mederma is the only topical cream that says it gets rid of stretch marks, I can only speak about Mederma since that’s the cream I used. WebMd says that although there are topical creams and lotions to supposedly get rid of stretch marks, they are not particularly effective. WebMd agrees with just about every Board Certified Plastic Surgeon, saying that surgical methods are the best way to be rid of stretch marks. But with the average cost of a tummy tuck being between $7,000 and $10,000 I think I’m going to just have to nix the bikini and keep tugging at my shirt tails.

**This post and all others (included posts not published on here) can be read at my brand-new blog site: http://www.mylovesleftovers.com. Thanks for checking it out!

Leave a Reply

