No, I Do Not Want A Walking Buddy

stll_girl_power_walking.jpg

Weather permitting, I power walk three miles a day. It’s a great way to get exercise, relieve tension and check up on my neighbors. I look forward to my walk. I listen to music on my IPod. But, best of all I can think about important issues and decisions and also mundane things. I do my best thinking in three places. In the shower, on the potty (more info than anyone wants or needs to know) and on my walk. Many friends and neighbors tell me they’ve seen me on my walks. Then, the next thing I know, they’re telling me they’ve wanted to start power walking and they’d really like a walking buddy. This is the time I have to quickly think on my feet. I usually just say my walking schedule varies and I often go for walks on the spur of the moment. It’s not that I’m anti-social. I just look forward to that quiet, introspective time to myself. I don’t even like taking my dog on my walks because I know I’m going to have to stop at every tree and fire hydrant along the way. The way I see it, my walk is my time to think and if I don’t have a potty buddy or alas, a shower buddy then I don’t need a walking buddy either.

Leave a Reply

